Saturday, July 14, 2012

Lean, Mean, Calorie Burning Machine..

Growing up I've always been a "big" girl. I've never been a size 0 or had those perfect abs. 
Weight has always been a struggle for me. It's a battle of ups and down's. I don't have small frame, I am built like my dad. big bone structure & muscles. (Although the muscles aren't always the most defined.) Over the years I have been all over the board with my weight. Well..this is a new year. 

I have had a lot of firsts and had decided at the beginning of the year that I was going to challenge myself to be a better version of myself..well I figured it is about time I take charge of something I have always struggled with. Don't get me wrong, I am not one of those overly self conscious people. I have no problem strutting my stuff, I just want to look the best I can. 
So, starting Monday I am going on a diet. I am sticking to it. I am going to go above and beyond to make my ideal body come true. There are no more excuses. You only get one body to live in..why not make it the best body you can get?? Now I'm not planning on going all crazy and becoming some woman's heavy lifting world champion..that's just crazy talk. All I want it something to be proud of. To say "this is me, I am what I am and I'm proud of it" 
I think that is a huge thing for girls these days. To be comfortable being who they are. It's not easy, there will always be someone that looks better than you. The trick is accepting that and being okay with it. You can't go through like comparing yourself to others because you will only ruin you're own happiness. If you don't like something, change it. Make a positive difference in you're life to get you to where you want to be. Don't wait around for something to happen, take the first step. Take charge.

That is exactly what I am doing. I know it's going to be tough, I know I will want to give up, throw in the towel. But then I will be back and square 1 wishing I had pushed myself harder, made it through so in the end I can look back and say: 
"I did that, I kept going, I pushed myself..and it was worth it"
Thankfully my wonderful husband is doing this with me. Hopefully with his support ( and knowing he is suffering like I am) we can both make it to our goal. 
Wish us luck. We are going to need it :)


Goodbye frumpy housewife..hello trophy wife!

Tuesday, July 10, 2012


What's In A Name...

Growing up with a difficult name I always hoped I would marry someone with an easy last name like Smith or Jones...something that everybody knows and you don't have to spell it out for them.

But wouldn't ya know, easy wasn't in the cards for me. Now with a name like Cecily Charmae Scheffer I got used to people always asking how to spell it. ALL OF IT. But now that I've become
Mrs. Cecily Charmae Piovesan there's no more hope for me. And so I've learned..you don't realize how many things have your name on it, until you change it. There's of course the bank account and drivers license..but you don't think about SSN, car title, car insurance, work information, Facebook...etc.
Plus being added to all your husbands things like health insurance, combining vehicle insurance & being added onto his bank account. (hehe) needless to say, it's going to take a while before it's all completed. And in the end I still have a name that nobody understands the first time you say it.

Now don't get me wrong, having a unique name has it's advantages. You never have to worry about sitting in a doctors office and when the nurse calls your name having 2 other people stand up, or when meeting your boyfriends family for the first time..highly unlikely he will have a sibling with the same name (or an ex girlfriend...awkward). I've also never had anyone call my name in a store and 3 other people turn around thinking they are the one's somebody is yelling at. So there are advantages.
And surprisingly I do receive a good amount of compliments for having a unique/pretty name. Which of course is always nice to hear. I would just love to meet another Cecily! Sure I have had people over the years that have mentioned knowing another Cecily..yet I personally have never been introduced to one. There's Celeste, Celia and Cicily...but so far no Cecily's.
Maybe I should put that on my bucket list...Meet another Cecily before I die. 

 Looking up my name on a baby naming website I discovered the origin is Latin, it's a form of Cecilia, the meaning is Blind, it only has 2 out of 5 stars for popularity rating AND it's been in the US top 1000 since 1880. Like I said before..the chances of being in the same room as another person with my name are few and far between..so until then..I just have to learn to be patient and appreciate those few people who can pronounce your name (or at least part of it) right the first time.

Sincerely, 

Cecily Charmae Piovesan